Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I am a student from Australia, who will be going on exchange for six months to the University of Sheffield. I will be starting in September of this year and so I am hoping for any advice I can get on this university. Whether it be which accommodation to chose, what clothing to bring with me, the easiest way to make friends, and just any advice I can get. Thank you!
    • TSR Support Team

ReputationRep:
    TSR Support Team
    University of Sheffield

This is the forum for U of Sheffield ^. Start there!

Good luck!

ReputationRep:
    Hi, I'd be happy to give you my advice on some of your questions. In terms of accommodation, The Encliffe Village is in a nice part of town and there are shared spaced which is good for getting to know people (check out google maps though). The weather is Sheffield is mild in the autumn through winter so you will need jumpers and later a warm coat (going from even 20 at beginning of Sep, average about 15C, down to 5 and below in the winter). It also rains quite often. Best advice for meeting people would be to get chatting to people in your classes and accommodation, join some clubs and also go to any events you fancy at the Student Union. Once you meet people, I'm sure you'll set up your own nights out to many of the bars and clubs in Sheffield! It's a nice city! Hope you enjoy!!

ReputationRep:
    I'd try and look for another exchange student to rent for a year together as university accommodation for semester exchange students is rather expensive at Sheffield, or ideally stay here for the whole year as then you can go into university halls at a reasonable price and you'll be mixed with freshers rather than other semester abroad students (and so you'll be a bit better off socially).