Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    I would reall appreciate some advice about applying to medical school.

I am currently in year 12 and I have the following GCSE results: 1A* 7A's 3B's.
    I am currently studying A-levels in: Biology, Chemistry, Physics and Maths (my predicted grades are B+ x4 although I am aiming higher) and I am planning on dropping Maths at the end of year 12.
    I am going to do a 5-day work experience placement at a local hospice and I am applying to do a 20-week voluntary placement at my local hospital. Alongside this I have attended Biology related trips to universities and I am doing maths mentoring for year 11's at my school. Although my GCSE's are far from competitive, what are my chances, realistically?

ReputationRep:
    If you can make your extracurricular really good and get decent A Levels then you're in with a good chance.

I would suggest places like Liverpool and Keele in terms of your GCSEs as you'd almost score full marks on the scoring system for Liverpool and Keele aren't too fussed about GCSEs. If you're lacking in confidence, then take a gap year and apply with known grades for ALevel as it makes things easier for you.

Posted from TSR Mobile
    • Community Assistant

ReputationRep:
    Community Assistant
    (Original post by Helpmeoutplease)
    I would reall appreciate some advice about applying to medical school.

I am currently in year 12 and I have the following GCSE results: 1A* 7A's 3B's.
    I am currently studying A-levels in: Biology, Chemistry, Physics and Maths (my predicted grades are B+ x4 although I am aiming higher) and I am planning on dropping Maths at the end of year 12.