Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi,

My boyfriend is trying to get a job as a junior web designer/web developer. He has applied for loads of jobs but has been rejected without interview. He has a degree in Digital Art and Technology and has previously had an internship and 5 months paid experience as a junior developer and has done a lot of freelance work making websites for friends and local groups/businesses. He has also done other jobs such as working in a shop and teaching english abroad. Its three years since he finished uni and still struggling to find work. Any ideas how he could improve his applications/cv or get noticed by employers.

ReputationRep:
    Without seeing his cv..no

Posted from TSR Mobile
    • TSR Support Team

ReputationRep:
    TSR Support Team
    Hi, I've been a developer for about 5 years. I'll offer my input tomorrow or feel free to quote or PM me. There's a few more things I'd like to know about your partner. Posting from phone at the moment.

ReputationRep:
    first question i'm going to ask you is, has he even got his own website? according to hearsay, some web development companies won't even consider someone without a personal website.
    • TSR Support Team

ReputationRep:
    TSR Support Team
    (Original post by Raees_Sharif)
    first question i'm going to ask you is, has he even got his own website? according to hearsay, some web development companies won't even consider someone without a personal website.
    Not necessarily a personal website but rather evidence of personal projects, portfolio, contributions, GitHub profile, LinkedIn profile, past commercial experience etc. Many employers will also provide a coding test or assessment at some point in the recruitment stage.

Incorporating this into your CV/application in a particular formatted way is also of very key importance.
    • TSR Support Team

ReputationRep:
    TSR Support Team
    (Original post by liv89)