Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hiya,

I've got my Drama exam looming in the next few days, and am playing a kid. He is 3 years old and therefore is energetic, and at the moment am finding it particularly difficult to do the character justice as such a young child.

And, the fact that my voice doesn't exactly reach a very high pitch doesn't, too, help.

Does anyone have any tips surrounding voice (the pitch, tone and kind of language I could use), movement (body language, posture, gestures?) and energy?

That would be so so so greatly appreciated!

Thanks

ReputationRep:
    A 3-year-old BOY by the way

ReputationRep:
    I regretfully inform you I'm not an expert on three year old boys.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by yepthatsme)
    Hiya,

I've got my Drama exam looming in the next few days, and am playing a kid. He is 3 years old and therefore is energetic, and at the moment am finding it particularly difficult to do the character justice as such a young child.

And, the fact that my voice doesn't exactly reach a very high pitch doesn't, too, help.

Does anyone have any tips surrounding voice (the pitch, tone and kind of language I could use), movement (body language, posture, gestures?) and energy?

Thanks
    just play childish, and extremely affective (emotional). I'm sure you'll do fine!

ReputationRep:
    I suggest you try and watch the musical 'Blood Brothers' - Maybe you can find it on Youtube? (Stage version, of course. I don't even think there's a film of it.) If you don't know of it already, long story short it's about two twins who were split apart - and it shows their whole life span, including childhood. Instead of getting child actors, the adult actors be children in it. I'll leave some links : P

ReputationRep:
    Thanks for the help guys

Will have a look at those links, thanks!

Any more tips? SPecific things i could do with my hands feet/voice?

ReputationRep: