Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Why do students try and live above their means? Watch

ReputationRep:
    Hi, i'm a first year student. I've had my own money since 16 (not a lot just a few hundred pounds every month) so that may influence what i'm about to say.

Anyway, I've noticed that alot of students try and live above their means financially. For example, just now i'm back from the shop and a young man behind me was saying to his friend that he was spending £150 a week and is £500 under his overdraft, I also had a conversation with a classmate who is £700 into his overdraft and was bragging about spending £100 on alcohol.

Ok, so I don't get this. Why would you spend more money than you can afford and get into debt when you can't afford to pay it back, do they not realise that the debt will rise with interest? At the moment I live on £300 a week and I watch my finances with a hawk so for these people to be living on £50 a week and then going into debt and trying to live a lavish lifestyle seems crazy to me!

Then you've got the people who get a £3,000 maintance grant and go and waste it on Macbooks or something that they don't need! (Often I find it is people from working class backgrounds)

I can't believe how frivous these people are! You would think they would be trying to save or buy the cheapest thing there is!

ReputationRep:
    because there financially immature and havent learnt the value of money

ReputationRep:
    It can be a learned behaviour, if parents have poor financial habits their kids pick it up. Some are sensible like you seem to be. Also, at 18, just leaving home for the first time, it's exciting. Perhaps they just spend because they can.
    In terms of the "working classes" that can be peer pressure. If you are mixing with those who have money and things you will want the same.
    You are on a solid amount £300 per week, or do you mean a month?