Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I achieved an A in SQA Higher maths last year, but chose not to study advanced higher maths. I would like to study computing science at University and am currently choosing between St Andrews and Edinburgh but am undecided (I have received an unconditional from both). Edinburgh say that they "strongly recommend" that I study Advanced Higher maths but St Andrews makes no mention of it. Obviously I've been accepted now, so that's not the worry. I'm just worried that I would struggle to keep up with the maths part of the course if I missed out on Advanced Higher. I've also not touched Higher maths in a year which could be a slight concern, but I imagine I could refresh my memory without TOO much trouble.

I'm also studying Advanced Higher Physics, which of course involves some maths too, just not to the same level of difficulty.

I've heard that a large portion of first year maths in university is just repetition of AH. Is this true?

I'm really regretting my decision to not study AH maths this year. Am I getting worried over nothing or have I made a mistake? Anybody got opinions to share?

(Original post by Lizard101010)
    I achieved an A in SQA Higher maths last year, but chose not to study advanced higher maths. I would like to study computing science at University and am currently choosing between St Andrews and Edinburgh but am undecided (I have received an unconditional from both). Edinburgh say that they "strongly recommend" that I study Advanced Higher maths but St Andrews makes no mention of it. Obviously I've been accepted now, so that's not the worry. I'm just worried that I would struggle to keep up with the maths part of the course if I missed out on Advanced Higher. I've also not touched Higher maths in a year which could be a slight concern, but I imagine I could refresh my memory without TOO much trouble.