Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Is the devaluation of the pound a good thing? Watch

ReputationRep:
    As an economics a-level student I firmly believe that we need to export more and import less. As the pound gets weaker, businesses are forced to look for UK suppliers meaning that those businesses would benefit so theoretically, employment would go up since more jobs would be available. Because of that, inflation would go up(in which we desperately need) and the £71bn budget deficit in 2014 will go down meaning that we'd have a similar budget deficit to the one we had when Margret Tatcher was prime minister.

However, if the pound keeps declining then it will be a bad thing in the long run but I genuinely believe that look at the devaluation of the pound as a possible thing, we need our economy to use home grown businesses rather than businesses from abroad.

Thoughts?

ReputationRep:
    As a short answer, I agree. Depreciation of the £ is bad.

ReputationRep:

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by SubZero~)
    As a short answer, I agree. Depreciation of the £ is bad.
    It depends on how you look at it, I guess. In the short-ish run(2-5 years) it would be good but if it keeps declining and never recovers in a few years after 5 years or so it would be awful for us, mainly depends on the elasticity of the goods being imported I gues

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by BrianMcEgg)
    As an economics a-level student I firmly believe that we need to export more and import less. As the pound gets weaker, businesses are forced to look for UK suppliers meaning that those businesses would benefit so theoretically, employment would go up since more jobs would be available. Because of that, inflation would go up(in which we desperately need) and the £71bn budget deficit in 2014 will go down meaning that we'd have a similar budget deficit to the one we had when Margret Tatcher was prime minister.