Turn on thread page Beta

what is the likely hood of me getting an investment banking graduate role watch

ReputationRep:
    I am a student at De Montfort University studying physics what are the chances of me getting a graduate role in investment banking, this being in a major bank or even boutique. I have been working for an accounting firm during my summers and was wondering realistically if i have a shot in getting this.

If i was to do a Masters degree in physics at say Imperial or UCL could this help me, i wouldn't want to do this but If i have to i would.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by IBFUTURE)
    I am a student at De Montfort University studying physics what are the chances of me getting a graduate role in investment banking, this being in a major bank or even boutique. I have been working for an accounting firm during my summers and was wondering realistically if i have a shot with getting this.If i was to do a Masters degree in physics at say Imperial or UCL could this help me
    Right now, you have almost zero chance of getting in because graduate roles are so competitive and you haven't done any internships or gone to a target uni- it is easier to apply for internships at a target and do really well on those so you get offered a graduate role. Definitely apply to UCL or Imperial and apply again for internships.

Doing a masters degree at Imperial or UCL will definitely help since they are both targeted by investment banks while DeMonfort is not. Make sure you get really good extra curriculars (sports, volunteering, committee member of a society) and show a passion for finance (do your research, also join a finance society).