Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    I am a third year Law student at a top 10 university and I have just been diagnosed with dyslexia.

My prognosis was that I have dyslexia, mainly to do with my phonics and processing. Ultimately I process really slow and the educational psychologist said that I need extra time - he has recommended 50% extra time on both exams and assignments.

I was wondering if anyone had any experience in going through the same issue (i.e. being diagnosed late in your degree) and having some of your assessments remarked.

My idea is on the pretense that if I had been diagnosed earlier, I would have both 50% extra time on both exams and assignments and there would have been notes on both to say that the student was dyslexic - and that they should take this into account.

I handed in a few of my assessments late over the years and got marks off.... but surely if I have been deserving extra-time (50%!) on all of them, the late marks should be removed.

Is it reasonable or even possible to push for a remark under these two ideas?

I know that my university off the bat will probably reject this - so that's why I was wondering if anyone else had successfully pushed for that.

If not, perhaps it's not a stretch to argue that this is discrimination to those with a disability?

I don't want to push for my work to be remarked on merit, if it was a bad essay, it was a bad essay. However, even as someone who writes better essays than exams - I have been performing mediocre in my degree. Maybe it's because it's hard and it's law or I thought maybe it's just me being not that clever.... but this seems to explain the problem I think.
    • Very Important Poster

ReputationRep:
    Very Important Poster
    Have you spoke to the disability services at your uni? I'm sure they can advise you on this.

ReputationRep: