Turn on thread page Beta

What to do re leaving uni/transfer? Opinions please :) watch

ReputationRep:
    Hi all,

Not sure if this is in the right place so please feel free to move it.

This is a kind of 'What would you do?' post.

I am a first year podiatry student at Birmingham Metropolitan College. Unfortunately, the course has been extremely disorganised to the degree no one in the year is happy and I have become resentful and apathetic towards it. The college has really done us a disservice, and I have heard the second and third years also have issues too.

We have had a meeting with the tutor and aired all our concerns. Some issues however cannot be resolved this academic year.

My question is: do I put up with this and hope it gets better next year and sort of 'get over it'? Or, do I transfer (if allowed) to another Uni into second year, which means having to move from home (not a huge problem in the grand scheme of things but still a factor) and start again.

I feel that I might be behind other places if I transfer to another uni straight into the second year due to being at a disadvantage at this college. So my final option is to apply for first year intake and start afresh.

Any opinions gratefully received.

Thanks
    • Very Important Poster

ReputationRep:
    Very Important Poster
    If you're not happy, I wouldn't stay on for second year. There's no point staying somewhere you're not happy.

ReputationRep:
    Personally, I would move to another university. I would rather transfer into second year than start again as a first year, but that would be your decision to make. You're paying for a service that you're not fully satisfied with, and you can't guarantee that it will improve that significantly for next year. I hope you make the decision that's right for you, good luck!

ReputationRep:
    Thank you for your replies. I am leaning towards transferring straight to second year.

• TSR Support Team
    • Study Helper

ReputationRep: