Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hullo,

I'm a secondary school English teacher and an NQT, and I need some career/life advice. Essentially, I've convinced myself that 11-18 teaching is not for me and what I really want to do is either further or higher education. Dealing with low-level disruption on a daily basis wears me down and seems to be the real barrier to me actually enjoying my job. I want as many of the challenges I face on a daily basis to be academic rather than social ones. My school's pupils are far above average in terms of behaviour, and yet I still can't abide this aspect of the job: I knew I'd never be able to enjoy it but I hoped I'd at least be able to tolerate it.

I absolutely love teaching Sixth Form, and I am confident that I would be far happier if I could trade the behaviour management side of the job with the more academic concerns of the further education teacher. The prospect of a greater marking load does not faze me if it means I have less crowd control to deal with. So that's one option. Problem is, I can't seem to find a job vacancy I want. Perhaps I'm being picky, as I want to teach Sixth-Form English lit/lang-lit/film but do not fancy GCSE re-takes or functional skills. I am willing however to move to almost anywhere in the country, so surely that stands me in some sort of stead?