Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi,

I'm 21 yrs old. I have been driving since September 2015 and I had a 3 month break from Nov-Jan due to work and a holiday. I have pretty much covered the whole driving syllabus except parking. In total I have had about 24 hours of tuition with an instructor and no private lessons.

I would ideally like to pass my test by May/June this year. I am looking at intensive driving courses as a means to speed up the process, and because I don't want to fork out a lot for more lessons. I know intensive lessons are quite expensive, so I am not sure whether I should just stick to block booking over time (but I do work several days a week) or if I should do an intensive.

Does anyone have any experience with an intensive course? Or any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks

UPDATE
    My instructor booked my test for May, so I am no longer considering an intensive course!

I know two people who tried an intensive course - both failed their first test, and ended up taking conventional lessons and passing that way. They both thought that the course sounded like a good idea, but realistically there is only so much learning you can do in a day when it comes to driving.

ReputationRep:
    I have been exclusively teaching intensive courses for nearly 20 years with a personal pass rate of between 60% to 80% depending on test centre.They can be an extremely effective way to learn if properly managed but remember - no one can guarantee a pass.

Just as there are good and less good instructors there are good and bad intensive courses.Many driving schools struggle to provide intensive courses, particularly if they have a plenty of hourly pupils. Understandably they are reluctant to cancel regular hourly pupils to provide a course for one. I discovered early on that an instructor can either provide intensive courses or hourly lessons but trying to do both just leads to unhappy customers.