Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I am a sixth form student, currently completing my AS levels, when this news was given to me...
    "Because there are only 4 people in your Product Design class, and because of school cuts, you WILL have to drop it next year as the course will not continue"
    I am currently completing these :
    - Geography
    - BTEC L3 IT
    - Business
    - Product Design
    We have to drop a subject, and because I want to go to a decent uni to study Geography, I want to drop BTEC IT and continue with the other 3 A-levels.
    However, as a result of the message above I have to continue with IT as they will no longer provide Product Design...
    Is this fair and is there anything I can do to stop this ?
    I am really worried about this so please can someone give some advice, I will be happy to give more information upon request
    Thank you Student Room,
    Lee
    • Community Assistant

ReputationRep:
    Community Assistant
    Yes it is fair, if they can't continue it due to funding then yeah they can make you drop it since... well it's obvious.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Vikingninja)
    Yes it is fair, if they can't continue it due to funding then yeah they can make you drop it since... well it's obvious.
    Thanks :/ Do you know if doing a BTEC and 2 A-levels next year may affect the chances of going to university ?
    • Community Assistant

ReputationRep:
    Community Assistant
    (Original post by lee1999wright)
    Thanks :/ Do you know if doing a BTEC and 2 A-levels next year may affect the chances of going to university ?
    You will have to ask the universities about their view on a BTEC. Though really a BTEC is an equivalent to an A level so apart from the top universities I can't see much of an impact. You will need the equivalent grade of an A level in the BTEC.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Vikingninja)