The Student Room Group

Transfer from Edinburgh Uni to KCL - yes or no?

Hi there!
I'm a 1st year student at Edinburgh Uni.
I'm studying Philosophy and Theology (MA- which is like a 4 year bachelor).

I need some advise and opinions on transferring - currently I'm at UoE, but I received an offer for 2nd year entry at KCL. Go to London or stay in Edinburgh? Every honest recommendation very much appreciated.

I would like to transfer to KCL for very personal reasons - good friends & boyfriend in London. Family in Germany.So it is like I have 3 homes... Which is a bit much and emotionally exhausting (sorry to sound like a baby - I hope you understand what I mean anyway).
I'm struggling to settle in Edinburgh.
However, I am worried that I'll "downgrade". Isn't UoE's reputation better? Also, I am not sure what employers will think of a transfer (power of endurance etc.).
Additionally, the degree at KCL is a different one - BA Religion, Philosophy and Ethics, and it's only 3 years. Would that be disadvantageous you think?

Any experiences? What do KCL / UoE students think?

Thanks a lot guys!
Original post by Wilhelmine20
Hi there!

I need some advise and opinions on transferring - currently I'm at UoE, but I received an offer for 2nd year entry at KCL. Go to London or stay in Edinburgh? Every honest recommendation very much appreciated.

I would like to transfer to KCL for very personal reasons - good friends & boyfriend in London. Family in Germany.So it is like I have 3 homes... Which is a bit much and emotionally exhausting (sorry to sound like a baby - I hope you understand what I mean anyway).
However, I am worried that I'll "downgrade". Isn't UoE's reputation better? Also, I am not sure what employers will think of a transfer (power of endurance etc.).
Additionally, the degree at KCL is a different one - BA Religion, Philosophy and Ethics, and it's only 3 years. Would that be disadvantageous you think?

Thanks a lot guys!

Sorry noone has replied yet