Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Which program should I choose: Contemporary art history/Curating/Museum Watch

ReputationRep:
    Hi all, I'm in need of some good advice on choosing a program, please help...

So I hope to become a curator someday, yet I studied something unrelated for undergrad, so I need at least a MA degree like art history/curating to prove my academic abilities. I've worked in galleries as intern and admin, but felt like without a proper training/degree, I will not move forward to my desired direction, which is curating...

So I'll get a degree this year and I have two options in UK right now...
    Christie's Modern and Contemporary Art History
    RCA's Curating Contemporary Art

Christie's 9 months program costs about 23,000 tuition while RCA takes 2 years and costs 28,400 x 2...(I'm an international student!!!) Christie's relatively affordable and much easier to graduate, but I have heard that Christie's degrees only work in the commercial realm...and even in there they aren't competitive any more...My friends at White Cube say they receive internship application from Christie's MA graduates all the time and reject most of them and I've done enough internships at galleries already...

However, their courses do look very exciting and fun, much less stressful compared to the serious RCA program (and of course half the price)... but I'm not sure which one has the higher value compared to the cost I need to invest...I cannot help thinking I can get 2 MAs with RCA's program, one christie's and one oxford... but it will take longer than 2 years...

Any advice?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by CutaorHK)
    Hi all, I'm in need of some good advice on choosing a program, please help...