Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    According to my teachers, wider reading around medicine can really boost your chances into getting into Medical school (Oxbridge, UCL, Imperial etc.).

I think I would prefer books I can understand (year 12) than magazines. But I don't really mind.

Where do I start?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by champ_mc99)
    According to my teachers, wider reading around medicine can really boost your chances into getting into Medical school (Oxbridge, UCL, Imperial etc.).

I think I would prefer books I can understand (year 12) than magazines. But I don't really mind.

Where do I start?
    I didn't get into med in the end, but I read these:

Genome (this one confused the hell out of me)
    Bad Science
    The man who mistook his wife for a hat
    Trust me, I'm a junior doctor (this was more for fun )

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by cookiemonster15)
    I didn't get into med in the end, but I read these:

Genome (this one confused the hell out of me)
    Bad Science
    The man who mistook his wife for a hat
    Trust me, I'm a junior doctor (this was more for fun )
    Thanks Did you enjoy them all or just read them for the sake of PS?

ReputationRep:
    Thanks Did you enjoy them all or just read them for the sake of PS?
    At first I just got them for my PS, but I ended up enjoying Bad Science

ReputationRep:
    At first I just got them for my PS, but I ended up enjoying Bad Science
    Cool. So what stopped you from pursuing a career in medicine?

ReputationRep:
    Cool. So what stopped you from pursuing a career in medicine?
    I didn't get the offers.

ReputationRep:
    To become enthusiastic about the process of becoming a doctor, while simultaneously exploring some of the issues that come up in healthcare. Some are a little dated but they're all fun to read:

-- Bedside Stories: Confessions of a Junior Doctor. Michael Foxton. Atlantic Books. ISBN 978-1843540328. £8.99.