Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Failing to get into accountancy for two years. Help needed ASAP. Watch

ReputationRep:
    OK I'm a 2014 graduate, and after uni I worked a year in retail while trying to get onto a grad scheme. Now it's been nearly two years and I still haven't secured a place on an accountancy grad scheme despite giving it my utmost and applying to anywhere in site. I pass application forms, pass online tests but it's the interviews where I'm getting killed. I'm always told my commercial awareness and knowledge of the role is very good but lack the necessary communication skills.

Now I can't sit around like this chasing a dream that's obviously not coming to fruition, plus I need to make money ASAP. What can I go into? I'm a Maths grad, 2:1 and from UCL. I feel like I can't wait any longer languishing in retail/at home trying to chase something which is obviously not suited to me, from a recruiter's point of view. Can anyone tell me how to get a decent office job? I don't even care about the pay. Please help me, I feel so lost. I'm willing to work extremely hard at anything, this is one thing I never lack and that's a work ethic. Please, I'm begging at this point.

ReputationRep:
    Apply to... non-grad schemes? They're extremely competitive but by any means not the only entry level jobs.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Brapadoo)
    OK I'm a 2014 graduate, and after uni I worked a year in retail while trying to get onto a grad scheme. Now it's been nearly two years and I still haven't secured a place on an accountancy grad scheme despite giving it my utmost and applying to anywhere in site. I pass application forms, pass online tests but it's the interviews where I'm getting killed. I'm always told my commercial awareness and knowledge of the role is very good but lack the necessary communication skills.