Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi, well basically I am hoping to apply to medical school and am planning to take the UKCAT at the end of the summer holidays. I have now looked at some questions and am basically pooing myself with the lack of time!! :eek: So me and my mum have agreed to do some courses and buy some books.

So, can I ask you guys what are the best courses for preparing for the UKCAT? The Medic Portal and KAPLAN ones sound best - but I'm new to all this so you'd know a lot more than me!

Also what books should I get? There's quite a lot to choose from, should I just get as many as possible?

And one more thing, I have quite bad anxiety, for those who have done the UKCAT, how do you manage reading those long passages with so little time without panicking?

Thank you so much for your help!

ReputationRep:
    I thought the Kaplan red book is quite good. It has really good tips and 2 practice tests with my average score in the diagnostic test being quite close to my actual result.
    In terms of VR passages the most helpful thing to do is read the question and then skim the passage that way you aren't actually reading the passage but skimming.
    I hope that helps!

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by funky386)
    Hi, well basically I am hoping to apply to medical school and am planning to take the UKCAT at the end of the summer holidays. I have now looked at some questions and am basically pooing myself with the lack of time!! :eek: So me and my mum have agreed to do some courses and buy some books.

So, can I ask you guys what are the best courses for preparing for the UKCAT? The Medic Portal and KAPLAN ones sound best - but I'm new to all this so you'd know a lot more than me!

Also what books should I get? There's quite a lot to choose from, should I just get as many as possible?