Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

A Reality of Uni Life with an Eating Disorder (REALLY LONG, NO REGRETS) Watch

SIT DOWN AND BUCKLE UP BECAUSE IF YOU'RE HERE, YOU'RE HERE FOR THE LONG HAUL.

I am a student at The University of St Andrews and I am sitting in my room at 12am completely overwhelmed with unheard of emotion which can seemingly be released only by giving an account of living with an eating disorder.

Prior to moving into halls, I had been two years free from a mixture of anorexia and bulimia and my weight was at a healthy 65kg - I was eating well and remained fairly passionate about running (I very much looked forward to reenacting the scene from Chariots of Fire on West Sands). My previous experience with eating disorders had resulted in my requesting catered accommodation which I felt would prevent a relapse and ensure that I always had food on the table.

I loved (and still very much continue to love) my hall - the community is fantastic, the hall itself is beautiful and I have made many friends who are more dear to me than anyone at my high school ever was. One fantastic young adult I found myself to be friends with openly recounted her dealings with anorexia and how it led her into hospital dying, at that point I was very relieved that I had managed to sort out my eating habits; at that point in time I was dealing with negative views of food but her stories and encouragement, unknown to her, kept me eating.

Until one day, this incredible and bight student who was cherished by all passed away.

With nobody to motivate me to refrain from relapse, the inevitable occurred and I began to purge, not often but it was happening. It wasn't that I stopped eating, I would just purge if I felt the meal had a carbohydrate content which was too high, or I had consumed too much fat or sugar.