Turn on thread page Beta

Financial Support Between BSc and PGCE?! watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    Hey, I wondered if someone could help me before I sit on the phone on hold to student finance for the foreseeable future...

Upon starting my undergraduate degree I was pursuing an MComp Computer Science degree which is a regular BSc degree with an extra year for a *masters* qualification on top, but within the undergraduate funding.

This course was 4 years long, however since then I have decided to graduate regularly with a BSc Hons as I want to (and have a firm place) pursue a PGCE in Computing at a different university.

This meant me changing my MComp degree to a BSc degree with my current university, which as I have just discovered has reduced my upcoming student finance payment (by £500!) In what I can only assume is because I am not *classed* as a student with my current university over the summer.

Obviously being a student, I'm on a tight budget which I have stuck to so I don't have any financial implications... until now.

In this scenario what happens?

I have now applied for my finance for my PGCE, but what happens during these summers months? Am I officially not classed as a student so I can't receive funding for this time? (I am still paying rent over the summer, etc)

Is there no 'pass over' in this time between degrees with student finance as technically... I am and will remain full time student.

If while mid-June until September I am not classed as a student is there any financial support I could get?

Even before this I planned on getting a full-time job over the summer to earn some extra cash... however I am concerned with me being £500 backlogged with no absolute guarantee I would have a job waiting that this could be a problem.