Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I'm in a bit of a rut. It's a really long story but begins with the fact that I have OCD and anxiety disorder (been treated but will never go completely). However, I have still always wanted to be a solicitor. So, I'm doing my degree now and I decided I should try get some work experience, so I applied and got a place with a small firm to do one day a week. I have now been three times and it is agony. I don't dislike the work or the people at all- but I get incredibly anxious about using the phone/ sending letters to clients. The problem is, I think they might be used to older students who know more stuff. I literally have never heard of most of the terms yet I have to call people about them! When I ask, they do try and help but I feel they're surprised I didn't already know and I hate continually asking when they're trying to work. It just makes me feel so stupid having to sit there and work out how to call someone about a topic I've never even heard of. It's to the extent that I am physically sick all night before I go to work experience. The real clincher is that the lady who gave me the experience is now leaving, so now I need to reapply in a sense. So this feels like my chance to quietly leave if it's too much for me. But I'd feel like a failure

ReputationRep:
    Me neither!
    • Very Important Poster

Very Important Poster
    Have you talked to your tutor or anyone overseeing work experience?
    How long will it last for.

All trainees panic and many cry because they dont know what to do. You are obviously clever enough to do a degree, so this is what I would do.
    1. understand they invited you becayse they thought you had potential.
    2. If you start a task, then take instrcutions with a pen and notepad. Repeat what theyve asked you to the person instructing. If you dont know then ask. Solcitirs are more concerned about things being done wrong than speed.