Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi everyone,

I'm currently studying Hospitality with Events Management, an industry I have been since I was 14 from starting a young apprenticeship. I'm in my second year which is a placement year, but I'm really struggling.

When I first started I had a serious battle with physical ability having not worked full time before, and I was considering quitting and doing an office job instead. My managers and family convinced me to stick it out because I would get better at being on my feet. Admittedly my stamina is a lot better now but I still do struggle. Despite this, I've always had the thought in the back of my head that maybe I am better off in an office job, like admin. I'm organised, I love sorting through paperwork and I love talking to people, whether that be over the phone or in person.

I'm really not happy with where I am or what I'm doing at the moment, and I'm seriously considering quitting. I don't have a social life, I'm always exhausted, I don't have any friends and I barely see my partner.

With me being 8 months into my placement year and already done a year at university, what would people recommend? Is it too late to drop out and have a complete change of career?

ReputationRep:
    Another question, is there anyone that dropped out of university that is now successful? Do employers actually care about a level of education or is experience more desired?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by rach210496)
    Another question, is there anyone that dropped out of university that is now successful? Do employers actually care about a level of education or is experience more desired?
    Hey you should check out 7cups.com (7cups of tea) You can ask a 'listener' on there and talk to people who can support you xx

ReputationRep: