Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    I'm in my last year at uni and going to go travelling September/October time. I've got no one to go with so going it alone, which is fine cause then I can do everything my way. I don't really know how to go about everything though, I'm a bit of a planner/organiser so winging it and finding hostels when I get there (I don't know where I'm going yet) scares me a bit. Anyone got any advice?

ReputationRep:
    Hello! I hope your travels go well. Do you have a fixed destination or direction that you want to go to?
    • When entering a new city make sure to check what areas to avoid so you don't end up in a dangerous location. Avoid alleys like the plague, don't get black-out drunk.
    • Make sure you know where the nearest Police Stations and Hospitals are, in case of emergency.
    • If going abroad, check the laws for that location. They may be different, especially if said area is highly religious, adjust your behaviour or actions accordingly. Also check local food for allergens.
    • Try to avoid looking like a tourist. Walk confidently and without valuables in sight. Pickpockets often target these people. On that note, make sure your belongings are secure and not likely to get lost or stolen. I'd recommend investing in a money belt that carries the things you absolutely cannot lose -- i.e. keys, debit card, phone or spare phone, etc.
    • Always have enough money to pay for a train or taxi fare in case you get lost or stranded. Keep it separate from spending money.
    • When in a new area don't walk around with headphones on as they distract you from your surroundings.
    • Check the weather patterns en route. Try to avoid getting tagged by bad weather especially if you're a motorcyclist.
    • Beware roaming charges where applicable.