Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi, I am currently in my second year of sixth form/college, doing AS-Levels in Economics, Business Studies and ICT. I flunked my second year so badly as I finished with a U in psychology and a D in business. This motivated me to get my **** together and this year I achieved three As in my mocks and I am expected an A in each subject.
    Looking at options for university, I would like to go into a good business administration/management degree or an IT/Computer science degree...
    However, all of the options I look at require Mathematics A grade at AS/A-Level. This would result in me either fast tracking it or taking it for just the AS-Level. I struggled with maths at GCSE and was expected a D, but I got a tutor and ended up top of my class with a B...
    I would like to know, how much of a jump is mathematics from GCSE to A-Level? I will be willing to take extra classes every week etc, I just want to learn about anyone else's experiences, Thank you, Luke.

ReputationRep:
    Well I'm in my first year, doing my AS-Levels. I'm on my last module and I'm predicted an A (Full marks) in each module.

Personally i found that there was no jump what so ever and i just managed to get an A in GCSE maths, actually to be honest i find it easier, because there aren't as many topics to cover.
    For example in OCR Core 1, the main topics are;

Indices
    Polynomials
    Differentiation
    Graphs
    Algebra

You wouldn't have to take many extra classes. The difference between doing well in A level maths isn't about how much you know, it's about doing as many past papers as you can and improving.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by B.reynolds26799)
    Well I'm in my first year, doing my AS-Levels. I'm on my last module and I'm predicted an A (Full marks) in each module.