Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    SO IT'S NEARLY THAT TIME OF YEAR AGAIN

I'm studying education and families and households, along with research methods and methods in context.

What do you guys thing will come up for both these units?

What do you think we will be asked to define, and what would the 20 marker question be on?

Last year the 20 marker was on educational policies, so I doubt that would come up again.

Kind of getting worried now, as the time is so close!

ReputationRep:
    Hey! I hope you don't mind me intruding - I do sociology at A2 with AQA and did the same units as you!
    The exam wasn't that bad and I got a B in it, but I really wouldn't advise not revising educational policy (One of the guys who did psychology didn't revise one of the studies because it came up in the last one. Guess what was on the paper?)
    IDK how good your teaching has been for methods in context, but my teacher is friends with one of the soc AS examiners, and suggested this layout as the most efficient way to get top marks
    Intro --> Why was the topic chosen, explain the method
    Main Body --> A ratio of 2:3 for strengths and weaknesses for that method in that context, linking points together normally shows a top band candidate (make a weakness a strength and vice versa)
    Link --> Use a study of that topic and how the method may have been applied (such as using a structured interview in Rosenthal and Jacobson if you still do that study)
    Conclusion --> Positivism vs interpretivism (if you cover that at AS) with a link to the topic and method, suggest which method may be better for the context

Best of luck and if you have any questions about the AS stuff, feel free to shoot me a message!

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by AlteredBoy)
    Hey! I hope you don't mind me intruding - I do sociology at A2 with AQA and did the same units as you!