Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

UCL v/s UCLA v/s University of Toronto for Pharmacology/Molecular Biology watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    Hello,

I am an international student (from India). I got an offer from UCL for Biomedical Sciences (but I wish to transfer to Pharmacology after Year 1). I also have an offer from U of T for Pharmacology. I also got into UCLA for Molecular, Cell and Developmental Biology.

My questions are:

1) Which university has more international reputation?

2) Which university has better prospects worldwide (in terms of employment)?

3) What is the university experience like for each of them?

4) Which course is better in terms of job prospects?

Also, if anyone has transferred from BiomedSci to Pharmacology, can they please tell me what the process was like, how competitive it was, what hurdles you had to cross, what the prerequisites are, etc...

Please note that I am currently unsure about whether or not I want to attend medical school or not. If so, I would like to attend it in USA/Canada... so both regarding and disregarding that, which option do you think will be better?

All help will be very appreciated!

Posted from TSR Mobile

ReputationRep:
    1 - It may differ depending on where you are, but before I went for undergraduate studies (secondary school wasn't UK or North America based), I had heard more of UCLA and UT than UCL. In North America, people will have heard of UCLA and UT more, depending on whether they are in the US or Canada.

2 - For worldwide employment, I would say all three will be on par (will vary slightly depending on the field you are applying for a job in). Usually at the corporate level, it's more of a what have you done recently. If you've done well in your undergraduate studies, it usually isn't a big issue where the degree was from.