Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Looking to move to a city and live on my own for the first time. Watch

ReputationRep:
    Hi guys,

I graduated from uni last summer and I got a job in my hometown which I am at now while still living at home. Its good but I feel its time to explore somewhere new as I live in a small town where not much is going on and there are less opportunities.
    I have looked at how much it would cost and I have worked out the finances based on what I think I would earn (similar to my current wage). Just looking for any tips or advice from any of you guys that have made that step and how it went for you especially if you have lived in Sheffield or Manchester as that is my 2 first choices.

Thanks.

ReputationRep:
    I will be in the same position as you in a couple of years so interested in reading any replies.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by SHUgrad)
    Hi guys,

I graduated from uni last summer and I got a job in my hometown which I am at now while still living at home. Its good but I feel its time to explore somewhere new as I live in a small town where not much is going on and there are less opportunities.
    I have looked at how much it would cost and I have worked out the finances based on what I think I would earn (similar to my current wage). Just looking for any tips or advice from any of you guys that have made that step and how it went for you especially if you have lived in Sheffield or Manchester as that is my 2 first choices.

Thanks.
    I am from a small town in Cheshire but I'm currently living in Greater London at university. If you feel like you're cooped up and can afford to move to the city - don't hesitate. As long as you can find a job before the move so you're funding doesn't dry up what's stopping you?