Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hello everyone,
    I have recently applied for a scholarship for three schools, and I have shown them that I am a very capable student. However, all three said that it was too late for me to apply for a scholarship. I look forward to doing 5 Highers in S5 (Scotland) and going to a private school would really help me to get to my intended University, which is Oxford. Is there anything I can do?

ReputationRep:
    Get a sat nav.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Maker)
    Get a sat nav.
    Lol, I liked your joke, but I mean, seriously, is there some kind of establishment that could help me get to a private school?
    • Political Ambassador
    • Welcome Squad

ReputationRep:
    Political Ambassador
    Welcome Squad
    Going into Oxford shouldn't be determined whether or not you went to private school because think about those who went to state schools and apply to Oxford, are their chances non existent? If it's too late to apply then it is.

ReputationRep:
    There is some evidence that going to an independent school is an advantage - ie that there are more independent school pupils who end up at Oxford than there are in the general student population - but there are other explanations and observations people put forward. Firstly, there are still lots of state school educated students at Oxford. Secondly, there is some evidence (I read) that state school pupils apply for the more popular (and so competitive) courses, while independent school pupils are more prepared to apply for less popular subjects. You can find the stats online I think. Any idea what subject you'd like to study at Uni?

(Original post by mghanduri)
    Lol, I liked your joke, but I mean, seriously, is there some kind of establishment that could help me get to a private school?
    Get a job and save up, you beatnik. Nobody's going to hand over the fees for you.