Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

Am I studying wrong? watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    I'm a mature student who decided to go back to University last year and I think i'll benefit from some academic advice!

I am in my second year and had my first written examinations (that count toward the final grade) last term. I spent the entirety of a month studying for them, doing 8-10 hours a day (solid work with no procrastination). Most of my friends started two weeks before but I was determined to get a good grade. One day I studied for 16 hours. I felt confident when the exams approached, and I had a lot to write about in the exams.
    We had to write two essay exams altogether. So what grades did I receive?

Essay exam grade 1 - 58 (2.2)
    Essay exam grade 2 - 63 (2.1)

Needless to say, I felt gutted. If I worked this hard, that long how could I have received those grades?! What had I done wrong? Unfortunately we don't get individual feedback for our essay exams just very general feedback aimed at everyone, which was very unhelpful in my case as I covered all they had said they had been looking for!

I was wondering if others have had this experience and what you did to combat it? Maybe I'm studying wrong?

I literally memorised everything. I memorised first the lectures, then the results and implications of about 10 other studies. I used flash cards to test myself. I really don't know what I did wrong or how I could improve and it's very frustrating as I have more exams coming up in 7 weeks which I'd like to do well in.

Overall, with coursework included my grades were okay 1st, 1st, high 2.1. But I feel I can't just rely on my coursework as Im bound to get a bad mark at some point and I need to do better in my exams!

I'll appreciate any feedback, comments or help!

Thank you.

ReputationRep:
    Hey, from your name I'm guessing you are taking Psychology?