Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Feel like I'm not pushing my potential. Should I drop out and apply to another uni? Watch

ReputationRep:
    This is all going to sound really pretentious but I'm not in the best place mentally right now at all.

I'm currently at the University of Manchester studying Maths and Physics (I'm in my first year).

I'm really regretting the choice as I feel I could have gone to a top 10 uni. I'm not liking being one of the top students here. I'd rather be another small fish in a big pond and really be inspired and grow by those around me.

I'm not really enjoying physics that much and feel like I'd be more happy doing straight maths.

I doubt I'll be good enough for Oxbridge, but Warwick looks like a really good option.

I want to know, is it worth losing 2 years (I missed the UCAS deadline this year) and starting a new degree on the year where I'd be on my third year at Manchester?

I know league tables don't count for much (It's essentially analogous to the whole IQ thing) but Warwick is constantly rated as one of the best places to go for a strong maths degree and therefore getting a top tier finance job. Manchester's maths course isn't even in the top 25. I feel like I could definitely get a first from Manchester and I feel that if I worked really hard I could get a first from Warwick too. I'd have less/no free time but I don't really do anything productive with my time so I feel like maybe it's worth going to Warwick and spending all that time working.

It seems like your undergraduate degree affects your career prospects a lot. I'm really insecure in my intelligence and I feel like I'll constantly be regretting my university choice unless I go to a "top tier" university like Warwick.

What should I do? I've felt like this since the start of the year but thought it would simply dissipate but it's only getting worse. It's starting to affect every aspect of my life