Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hello, i'm a student in student accommodation and i'm in need of some advice. I was wondering if this particular situation can be filled under false pretenses?

Around November me and 6 other people were looking at a house together, even though I've told them that i was doing a industry year (not found one by that point). After a tour of the house they took us back to sign the contracts, i was dead-set on not signing the housing contract until the staff came to me with a particular clause they have written. This clause is what changed my mind because it said that my contract will still be viable till the 1st of January and if i hadn't responded by then, they were going to assume that i was doing a industry year and rent my room out. They said 6 of us had to sign on that day, everyone signed except friend X who was going to sign after talking to her parents. She decided not to sign the contract because her parents deemed that it was too expensive so that leaves 6 of us in a 7 person house.Then a couple weeks go by and we found friend Y to sign her contract instead.

Fast forward to today and i am sent a letter with the breakdown of the direct debit payments that they want for the room and a DD form. So i ring them up as soon as i got it and they told me that friend Y signed for the room and that we no longer need to look for a 7th person. They state that the clause was "If a 7th person is not found by 1st of January, that we will take up the responsibility". After explaining all this to them they sent me a dropout form to sign so they can once again start letting out my room however, it said that if they cannot find anyone that i'm still liable for all the payments.I was wondering what my legal rights are if i signed this contract under false pretenses because they changed the whole reason behind the clause in the first place.
    • Very Important Poster

Very Important Poster