Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Is a B at GCSE maths good enough to do it for A - level? Watch

ReputationRep:
    I'm very likely to get a B grade at maths in the 2016 exams.
    My question is: Will this grade be good enough to do A2 maths?
    AND
    Will a B at GCSE be enough to achieve an A at A2 maths?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Mahfuz_A)
    no a solid A is standard i think

ReputationRep:
    Not really no.

ReputationRep:
    Yes it is good enough, whether it is standard or not is irrelevant also your GCSE grade doesn't effect your grades in collage so if you work hard enough you have a chance of getting a really good grade

ReputationRep:
    I got a B in my GCSE which I practically self taught and am expecting a high A grade at AS-level. A-level maths is not hard, just a lot of practice.
    • Very Important Poster

ReputationRep:
    Very Important Poster
    Try to work now and push it up to an A* by the exam.

ReputationRep:
    i got a C first time at GCSE maths (year 9) and sat A-Level and got an A at AS (298/300). Nothing is 'not good enough' if you try hard enough.

ReputationRep:
    AND
    A is better but nothing is concrete, so long as you put the effort in the grade you can get can be what you want.

ReputationRep:
    Whether a B is good enough depends on the entry requirements of the college you want to do it at. Although your GCSE grade doesn't dictate what grade you will get at A Level, you are generally less likely to get an A at A Level if you get a B at GCSE, than if you got an A or A* for example.

ReputationRep:
    Yes, my friend got a B in Maths and is now doing it at A level

ReputationRep: