Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I'm applying to my primary school for my year 10 work experience and was wondering if this was okay to email them or not.

Dear sir/madam,
    I am currently a year 10 student at ____________, and I am writing to ask if there is a possibility that I would be able to do my work experience at ___________, from the _____to the ______

I would like to do my work experience at ______________ as it was the primary school I went to, also I live locally so it would be very easy for me to make my own way there in the mornings and back home in the afternoons. I also aspire to be a paediatrician in the future and I believe that it would be good practise working with younger children.

I look forward to your reply and any other information I may need concerning my placement.
    Yours sincerely,

Is there any unnecessary detail there or do I sound stupid or anything I should change about the email. any feedback would be helpful.
    • Very Important Poster

Very Important Poster
    i was always told you should be looking at what you can do for them not what they can do for you.
    It comes across as though you just fancy work experience, but dont have anything to offer. The fact its easy for you to get to or you think it will advance your career doesnt make me wnat to hire you.

If you dont know the name of the person you are writing to then its yours faithfully.

Maybe rewrite it to put the emphasis on theschool and working with kids as well as what you have to offer.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by 999tigger)
    i was always told you should be looking at what you can do for them not what they can do for you.
    It comes across as though you just fancy work experience, but dont have anything to offer. The fact its easy for you to get to or you think it will advance your career doesnt make me wnat to hire you.