Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I'm studying a module on elementary logic atm (it's propositional and first order logic) and have just run into the material conditional, which completely threw me. Googling it I've learned that it's considered "logic's first surprise".

It's not that I don't understand it (it's just a case of memorising the truth functions) it's that i completely reject it's foundational semantics. Most of the controversy seems to come from the last two rows of it's truth table, but i even reject the first row.

For those who don't know, material conditional is an "if then" statement captured through truth tables like this:

A B /A --> B
    T T/ T
    T F/ F
    F T/ T
    F F/ T

with A and B just being any variables, the arrow being the conditional, T and F being true or false, and the second column defining the truth of the conditional from the truth of a and b.

I do not accept that A -->B (if..then) can be defined by ¬(A n ¬B) (not the case that A and not B). Clearly it is defined that way so as to be able to give it truth a truth value from the truth values of the propositional variables, however this strikes me as the wrong way to go about assigning a truth value to it. When you say "If I go to the shops it will be to get chicken", your criteria for that statement's truth is not whether you went to the shop and got some chicken (after all, getting chicken from the shops is not a formal proof that it always follows that when you go to the shop whenever the conditional is true, you must get chicken). Clearly, the the truth value of the conditional which these semantics (syntactics?) are trying to symbolise are not captured by the truth of the irrelevant propositions either side of it. Right...?

So it seems clear to me that the truth values of conditionals cannot be dependant on the truth values of propositions.