Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hello!

I was going to call student finance but first thought I'd see here.

Last year I applied for student finance for my first year; proved I can be seen as home student (lived here for more than 3yrs). This year it did not ask me to do so. I assumed it's because I spent the year at uni and it would automatically see me as a home student.

My parents supported my application and I sent off the form. My payments now have been approved, but it says I am an EU student and so cannot get a maintenance loan.

I was going to call student finance next week but was wondering whether anyone could provide me with an explanation or some tips for what to do.

Thanks!!!
    • Very Important Poster
    • PS Reviewer
    • Clearing and Applications Advisor

ReputationRep:
    Very Important Poster
    PS Reviewer
    Clearing and Applications Advisor
    (Original post by cuppa)
    Hello!

I was going to call student finance but first thought I'd see here.

Last year I applied for student finance for my first year; proved I can be seen as home student (lived here for more than 3yrs). This year it did not ask me to do so. I assumed it's because I spent the year at uni and it would automatically see me as a home student.

My parents supported my application and I sent off the form. My payments now have been approved, but it says I am an EU student and so cannot get a maintenance loan.

I was going to call student finance next week but was wondering whether anyone could provide me with an explanation or some tips for what to do.

Thanks!!!
    Definitely call them up.

Did you apply before the 24 March? The residency rules changed and anyone applying after the 24 March is now only eligible for a maintenance loan if they've been resident in the UK for 5 years prior to the start of their course.