Summer Internship Or Dissertation

Announcements Posted on

ReputationRep:
    I am an MBA student. I have three months summer vacation from July to September before my second term starts...

I was thinking about going for an internship during these three months... But one of classmate suggested that I complete my dissertation during that time and then utilise the three months I have after completion of my course for internships...

So I am in a bit of a dilemma here... What do you guys suggest??? I need some advice from a job perspective... Which wold help me secure a job easily??? and Internship or my dissertation???

Not sure either would help you secure a job easily. Why would it? I suppose the interneship would be best, but it depends where it was. Unless your dissertation was something amazingly relevant, then how does that make you a better employee?

Imo do your dissertation, unless you get a great internship. Do another intership after you finish.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by 999tigger)
    Not sure either would help you secure a job easily. Why would it? I suppose the interneship would be best, but it depends where it was. Unless your dissertation was something amazingly relevant, then how does that make you a better employee?

Imo do your dissertation, unless you get a great internship. Do another intership after you finish.
    Yeah... Makes sense... I do have my idea for dissertation now... I was hoping to finish it well before the deadline and then apply for internships...

You dissertatuib is part of your degree, ofc you would finish it before moving on. Its unlikely either will get you a job easily. Just depends how prestigious your MBA is. Talk to the department or careers to find out what other students did after finishing. You might be in demand or it might be an expensive indulgence.

ReputationRep: