Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

What university should I choose watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    I need one of the following two schools.Please help me make the right choice by answering my questions
    -McGill
    - WPI
    Major: Computer Engineering
    I am an international student
    and here are my questions:

-Which engineering program is more prestigious?
    - Which school has better facilities? McGill's endowment is about 1.4 billion but WPI's 400 million. But WPI is a private so does this make a difference? How are the labs in both schools.
    - How are the internship opportunities? what kind of firms recruit from both schools
    - How do the starting salaries for computer engineering fare?
    - If I want to do my graduate school in the US. Will it be easy for me to study in the US. And after this will I be required to go back in Canada or I can stay in the US if I find a job there?

Questions for McGill:
    - Can I easily get a campus job? since I am an international student
    - I heard somewhere that McGill is more theory oriented. Is this true? or do they get just as much hands on experience as any good engineering program. Do students get to apply what they learnt with real equipment?
    - Do I get to make my own class schedule and decide when my classes start? Because I think I read somewhere that McGill classes start at 8:30 am

Questions about WPI:
    - How are the dorms and bathrooms? I have heard horrible stories about them!

So far I am leaning more towards McGill. I've heard many good things about the school, the people, and the city.

ReputationRep:
    You're going to get better answers to this on College Confidential

ReputationRep:
    aymanzayedmannan can help you with McGill

ReputationRep:
    This is a North American problem.

FWIW, I have heard of McGill, but had to Google WPI. Which may be completely irrelevant to the kinds of employers you care about.