Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I'm a student (in my final year of law school) and I'm going on a date with someone who earns money, probably somewhere between £25,000 - £50,000 (I understand that's a really big gap but with the stage of the profession they're in earnings really vary).

I have money from a grant and I'm going to be earning a good amount of money when I start work later this year. I would like to treat her to the first date but I can't help thinking that if I insist to do this I'm being sexist. She is clearly in a better position than I am.

If she wants to go halves should I let her? I want to treat her but I don't want to appear antiquated in my views!
    • Section Leader
    • Very Important Poster
    • Peer Support Volunteers

ReputationRep:
    Section Leader
    Very Important Poster
    Peer Support Volunteers
    (Original post by Howbeit)
    I'm a student (in my final year of law school) and I'm going on a date with someone who earns money, probably somewhere between £25,000 - £50,000 (I understand that's a really big gap but with the stage of the profession they're in earnings really vary).

I have money from a grant and I'm going to be earning a good amount of money when I start work later this year. I would like to treat her to the first date but I can't help thinking that if I insist to do this I'm being sexist. She is clearly in a better position than I am.

If she wants to go halves should I let her? I want to treat her but I don't want to appear antiquated in my views!
    If she wants to go halves then i don't see why not
    • Very Important Poster

Very Important Poster
    Never understand why people get in such a tiz about these things. Its all about politeness and respecting the other person.

My rule is if I do the invite, then Im agreeing to pay as the other person is my guest.