Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi,
    I am a long time reader but never posted. I am currently an OU Psychology undergraduate student. Medicine is what I want to get but I choose the OU Psychology as it is a BPS accredited degree unlike the health science degrees that are currently offered by the OU. Also by taking the OU route I do not have to think about childcare.

Although my scores in essays are ok so far 89-95 range. I feel that I will never get graduate medicine as I have been a stay at home mother for the last eight years (I am 27). Also, my A-levels I messed them up so bad I might not as well got out of bed!

If I got the experience (Heath care assistant, volunteering) and re-take the GCSE's along with an access course. Would I ever stand a chance? Or will the eight years at home and messed up the first time on the exams always go against me?I am trying to be realistic about the entire process.

Thank you for reading!

ReputationRep:
    Is your Psychology degree a BSc? What are you predicted to graduate with (classification)?

Most GEM places do not look at your GCSE and A-level results and instead require you to sit admission tests (UKCAT, GAMSAT, BMAT) as an alternative. If you graduate your current degree with a 2.1 you would be in as strong a position as many other GEM candidates, as long as you get the relevant work experience.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Marathi)
    Is your Psychology degree a BSc? What are you predicted to graduate with (classification)?

Most GEM places do not look at your GCSE and A-level results and instead require you to sit admission tests (UKCAT, GAMSAT, BMAT) as an alternative. If you graduate your current degree with a 2.1 you would be in as strong a position as many other GEM candidates, as long as you get the relevant work experience.
    Hi,