Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    This is a bit of a long one.

I'm a second year English student who has been looking for internships to help me build a career in journalism. I found an intern position as an Editorial Assistant with a small women's magazine for the summer, and so applied with my CV, cover letter and links to previous published works.

I got to the second stage where I was asked to write an article for their April edition as a way to assess whether I was good enough for the position. I wrote my article, but whilst I was researching the company to see what their style was, I noticed they made a few campaign videos. These videos were really badly done, just texts on gaudy coloured backgrounds with terrible royalty free music. I have a successful YouTube channel which I work on in my spare time, and so am pretty capable with video editing, though no where near professional level. I decided that I would give reworking one of their videos a go, to attach alongside my article so as to demonstrate my ability to take on different kinds of projects and generally be a valuable intern and asset to them. I introduced the video with this:
    In addition to my interest in journalism I have successful experience in social media, particularly video formats and so decided to rework your video for the 'You Are Beautiful' campaign. I wanted to demonstrate my ability to work successfully across multiple mediums and found the 'You Are Beautiful' campaign inspiring. I have uploaded an unlisted sample of the video to YouTube.

So I sent off my article and video, which was clearly labelled as a sample video unlisted on YouTube. The reply I got was this:
    'We have looked at your article and very impressed with your video which we will use for the project.'. They also offered an interview in three days time which I am unable to make.