Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

What 'red tape' are Brexiters referring to? watch

ReputationRep:
    Leave voters are constantly telling us how small British businesses are being destroyed by EU red tape, but I've never actually seen a single example of this red tape.

As an aspiring small business owner myself, the only red tape I've had to deal with was put in place by our own government.

ReputationRep:
    Stop scaremongering, OP.

Sorry, my knee jerked.

ReputationRep:
    Probably something to do with banana packaging.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by JordanL_)
    Leave voters are constantly telling us how small British businesses are being destroyed by EU red tape, but I've never actually seen a single example of this red tape.

As an aspiring small business owner myself, the only red tape I've had to deal with was put in place by our own government.
    Those vile, evil EUSSR vermin are stopping us from selling weapons to the Saudis and have the sheer audacity of stopping our HARD WORKING BRITISH bankers from getting quite so much money from Bonuses. They hate our freedomz.....

ReputationRep:

Good question OP,
    for a start any small business who wants to trade with the EU has to fill in forms in 20 different languages. Anything they want to export has to meet the ridiculous guidelines of the EU, and new products take months to licence.

That's not to mention having no borders, and spending £billions on projects decided by unelected appointed bureaucrats (oops, I just did).

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by james813)
    Good question OP,
    for a start any small business who wants to trade with the EU has to fill in forms in 20 different languages.
    Surely if you wanted to trade with say china you might have to do some forms in chinese?

Anything they want to export has to meet the ridiculous guidelines of the EU,