Chances for Natural Sciences course for "Mature" Student?

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    Hi everyone!

I'm a student in UK university, studying Politics, and I really dislike it. I've started getting back to my original interests - Natural and Life Sciences a couple of months ago, and I really wish I could study that instead.

I did the IB, and didn't take any science at HL level, so retaking my exams is already a nono since I would basically have to restart the program.

I don't know what to do... Does anybody have any idea?

Thank you!

ReputationRep:
    This is what foundation years etc are for! If you have a look online, lots of good universities are offering one year courses going through the science A level content, usually leading onto a place on their standard degree programme

You could also consider going back and redoing IB/ A levels in science subjects, or doing a degree with the open university (nor sure how good they are for science courses though, probably not many lab hours).

ReputationRep:
    Hi,

I'm aiming at doing a second degree - in Natural Sciences after doing Int Architecture first time around. I'm 29 and studying A levels in Maths Phys and Chem. I would suggest getting a good grounding in them first.
    I'm looking for a study network so let me know what you decide and if you want to study together.

regards

ReputationRep:
    When I was at uni, I did Theology and English for 2 years, then switched to the OU. I was able to transfer my credits and get a degree in Humanities.

If you find a course, call the uni and discuss credit transfers. The OU were very good, but I think most unis will consider this.

Good luck!

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by meljay)
    When I was at uni, I did Theology and English for 2 years, then switched to the OU. I was able to transfer my credits and get a degree in Humanities.