A2 Level Key Essay Structures

Watch this thread
elen90
Badges: 12
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report Thread starter 6 years ago
I'm studying Edexcel French and for the discursive essay 15 out of the total 45 marks are for the quality of language - i.e. how the grammar is manipulated. This probably also applies to other exam boards.

If done correctly, using complex grammatical structures can really help you gain the top grades. So I'm trying to compile a list of such structures, where I will include as many as possible in my essay (obviously the word count can limit the total usage).

Think of anything that I've missed? Let me know and I'll add it on!

> Object pronoun (direct/indirect)
> Idiom
> 'If' clause
> Conditional
> Subjunctive
> Passive and/or Perfect
> Present Participle
> Future
> Reflexive verb
> Superlative
> Direct/indirect articles
> Good negatives (ne... que, ne... jamais, etc.)
> Question
odjack
Badges: 1
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report 6 years ago
I think they quite like sinon + futur because it's a good way to be hypothetical and get in a future tense.
E.g. Il faut que tout le monde fasse quelque chose. Sinon, la pollution ira de pire en pire!

'Après avoir' is a particular favourite of mine.
E.g. Après avoir lu un article dans un journal, je me suis rendu compte...(etc)

Or future perfect.
E.g. Je l'aurai déjà fait quand tu arriveras.

That's all I can think of that you haven't already mentioned! I'm pretty jealous you get so many marks for structures actually. I'd say it's one of my strengths but it only gets you up to 5/40 marks in our essays
rileystringer1
Badges: 11
Rep:
Report 6 years ago
(Original post by odjack)
I think they quite like sinon + futur because it's a good way to be hypothetical and get in a future tense.