Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I just got an offer to study biomedical science at UCL, but it is too expensive :') I am an Egyptian student and the fees are more than my fathers' salary per year :') I was wondering if anyone has applied to Deny's Holland scholarship and got it and what are its requirements? I understand that it depends on financial hardship, but what is the measure for that? Does an income of 18000 pounds a year for a family of 4, make you in financial hardship ? I also have an offer from the University of Sheffield and if i can get the merit scholarship i will be able to afford it , so I was wondering if i should go to Sheffield, what do you guys think ? Is UCL worth all the money and extra strain on me and my dad to be able to pay for it ?
    • Political Ambassador

ReputationRep:
    Political Ambassador
    Hi,

First of all, UCL is a very good university, but it is worth nothing if you cannot afford to pay for it and get your family bankrupt in the process.

I think the measure for financial hardship is demonstrating that you and your family will not be able to afford to study at UCL without their support. So, I think that you will have to provide bank statements and financial proof that shows your family's total income to demonstrate that you don't actually have the money.

You appear to be in the same position with the University of Sheffield. You will not be able to afford it, unless you can get some scholarship(s).

I think that you should look at the British Council website for possible funding opportunities. The UCL programme may be more strenuous on you and your family because of the exorbitant cost of living in London i.e. rent, food and welfare.