Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

low self confidence and struggling with public speaking need advice :( Watch

ReputationRep:
    I'm a 3rd year student currently preparing for my last lot of exams, but as well as that this year i've had a dissertation to do and in 9 days i have to do a 15 minute presentation about the work i've done. I don't feel very confident about what i've written in my dissertation and so to talk about the same stuff in front of a group of people with questions is really stressing me out on top of the seemingly millions of other things that are worrying me :/

I've never been good at public speaking and the build up to it makes me feel really anxious - i lose sleep over this sort of stuff and the whole idea of it happening soon is really intimidating and i just burst out crying sometimes when i think about it.

For someone like me who struggles very much with this is there any advice any of you could share? I am sorting out the powerpoint and topics i'm going to be talkig about today. I'll practice speaking and stuff when i've finished but this along with exam revision/assignments as well ugh just really don't know what to do and really really really panicing about everything wish i was just someone who was confident and calm i really don't want to fail and look/sound like an absolute idiot :/

ReputationRep:
    Maybe try practicing in front of your friends/family/own mirror first? I am bad at public speaking too, but it really gets better when you do it over and over again so that you actually know what you'll be doing on the presentation day.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Annasuccia)
    Maybe try practicing in front of your friends/family/own mirror first? I am bad at public speaking too, but it really gets better when you do it over and over again so that you actually know what you'll be doing on the presentation day.