Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I'm thinking of joining the raf as a pilot, it is the only thing that's has ever stood out to me as a career, I am in my first year of sixth form and I'm doing BTEC sport science, I chose this because I had no u plea what I wanted to do when I started so I did it because I thought I would enjoy it, which I do, I wasn't planning on going to uni again because I wasn't sure what I wanted to do.

So my question is have I ruined my chances? Because I will be going in against people with A* in maths and a degree from UNI? I did decent in my GCSEs. I will have the correct requirements but does that not mean anything at the end of it?

Thanks

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Theguy18)
    I'm thinking of joining the raf as a pilot, it is the only thing that's has ever stood out to me as a career, I am in my first year of sixth form and I'm doing BTEC sport science, I chose this because I had no u plea what I wanted to do when I started so I did it because I thought I would enjoy it, which I do, I wasn't planning on going to uni again because I wasn't sure what I wanted to do.

So my question is have I ruined my chances? Because I will be going in against people with A* in maths and a degree from UNI? I did decent in my GCSEs. I will have the correct requirements but does that not mean anything at the end of it?
    You have the correct / minimum requirements, but they're just that, minimum requirements. As you say, you'd be competing for selection with people who have more than that.

On the surface, that doesn't really matter, but you do need something that will make you stand out. Could be anything, could be a long history of volunteering, could be exceptional service in the ATC, many positions of leadership throughout school...etc. But you do need something.

By far the better option is to rethink your A levels and try university - if nothing else it gives you a realistic plan b.