Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Losing weight whilst simultaneously gaining muscle? watch

ReputationRep:
    Hello,

I would like to lose weight, whilst adding muscle at the same time.

I'm 16 years old and about 6ft 2. I'd like to get back into Rugby, but in order to do so, I need to lose weight. I'm currently about 95kg, Ideally I would like to be at 80kg by September.

I would like to know whether you all think this is possible, if so how should I go about it?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by BobDon)
    Hello,

I'm 16 years old and about 6ft 2. I'd like to get back into Rugby, but in order to do so, I need to lose weight. I'm currently about 95kg, Ideally I would like to be at 80kg by September.

I would like to know whether you all think this is possible, if so how should I go about it?
    Although possible, it is very difficult to lose fat and gain muscle at the same time (with the exception of a complete novice to training)

Generally speaking when someone that is holding a decent amount of mass tries to lose fat they find themselves struggling to even hold onto their muscle while dieting.

In your situation I would recommend picking one goal and running with it rather than trying to do two things at once.

Best of luck!

ReputationRep:
    quick q- I'm not fat and am trying to build muscle. how do i lose belly fat though which I've always had? is cardio a waste?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Davew3000)
    Although possible, it is very difficult to lose fat and gain muscle at the same time (with the exception of a complete novice to training)

Generally speaking when someone that is holding a decent amount of mass tries to lose fat they find themselves struggling to even hold onto their muscle while dieting.

In your situation I would recommend picking one goal and running with it rather than trying to do two things at once.

Best of luck!
    Yeah, I think I'll focus on losing weight at the moment.