Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    In need to a bit of advice, hopefully someone can help.

I am 22, working half the week in a special needs school and the other half in a primary school and have recently moved out with my partner.
    I am interested in a career in speech and language therapy and have been for a few years now, unfortunately the closest universities offering the speech and language degree are in plymouth or cardiff, which are both about 1hour and 45 minutes away from me.
    Living in halls is not an option as I am paying to run a home with my partner so commuting daily would be the only option that I can think of. I am currently studying an A level so I can get in to university however as I am 22 they are very expensive and I will need to do two more after this year. So I am looking into an access to higher education course with the OU instead.

My other option would be to do a degree with the OU (which I wouldn't need the A levels or access course for) and then do a PGCE so I can become a teacher in a special needs school, I will be able to do this all whilst living at home and without having to commune far. I know I would enjoy this job but it isnt the dream.

What is your advice and what would you do? I am becoming increasingly stressed about the whole ordeal and do not have a clue of the best option, nor where I should look for advice hence why I am posting here.

I hope you can help and thank you in advance.
    • Section Leader
    • Very Important Poster
    • Peer Support Volunteers
    • Clearing and Applications Advisor

ReputationRep:
    Section Leader
    Very Important Poster
    Peer Support Volunteers
    Clearing and Applications Advisor
    (Original post by JasHarris)
    In need to a bit of advice, hopefully someone can help.

I am 22, working half the week in a special needs school and the other half in a primary school and have recently moved out with my partner.