Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    My GCSE grades were 2 A* 10 As and 1B and I am taking an astronomy GCSE next year (purely for my entertainment but hoping for a good grade).

I'm very interested in applying for a place at a university in course for medicine, but I am also aware that ideally I needed some more of the my A grades to be A* grades instead.

Realistically is there a chance of me being accepted into medicine, and if there are any particular universities that I might have a greater or lower chance of being accepted. I'm currently studying AS biology, chemistry, physics, and geography (predicted AS grades A/B). I aim to carry all of my current subjects to A-level and obviously I hope to get good results (AABB - AAAA) this year.

Will my GCSE results hinder my success?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by E10D1E_17)
    My GCSE grades were 2 A* 10 As and 1B and I am taking an astronomy GCSE next year (purely for my entertainment but hoping for a good grade).

I'm very interested in applying for a place at a university in course for medicine, but I am also aware that ideally I needed some more of the my A grades to be A* grades instead.

Realistically is there a chance of me being accepted into medicine, and if there are any particular universities that I might have a greater or lower chance of being accepted. I'm currently studying AS biology, chemistry, physics, and geography (predicted AS grades A/B). I aim to carry all of my current subjects to A-level and obviously I hope to get good results (AABB - AAAA) this year.

Will my GCSE results hinder my success?
    Those are good grades, you just need to be strategic about how you apply and avoid the GCSE-heavy unis. You'll know better where to apply when you have your AS grades and UKCAT score. There are guides on the medicine wiki here
    http://www.thestudentroom.co.uk/wiki...your_Strengths

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by theresheglows)