Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

How do I make a website of this complexity? watch

ReputationRep:
    Hi,

I'm a complete beginner and I have an aspiration to make a website at this sort of standard during my time at uni: www.themarketmogul.com

How do I start the process? Do I learn HTML through a programme like Dreamweaver, or more complex languages? Or can I achieve this standard using WordPress? What are the first steps?

Thank you!

Posted from TSR Mobile

ReputationRep:
    Bump

ReputationRep:
    OK, first off: don't use dreamweaver. Just don't. Use your preferred text editor (Notepad++, emacs, vim, whatever else you prefer).

Second: you are going to need some kind of backend language to do the real work. This can be literally any language. A lot of people use PHP (despite it being awful). Pick your preference of language, and learn it. In particular, you'll need to learn some kind of database interface for it: again, take your pick of the options with decent libraries. You'll need to do some basic server setup to push that to the front (this is marginally easier in PHP than real languages, but that's not a reason to use PHP). Then, you'll need to make your front end HTML/Javascript, stick it in your database, write the backend code to serve that to the users, and to add stuff to the database(s) (after suitable filtering) if you want users to be able to submit stuff to the site.

ReputationRep:
    I dont want a huge image taking up half the page forcing me to scroll to see content and articles magically appearing whilst it throws javascript errors in the background.

It does dozens of GET requests for Javascript files which is why it loads like crap on fiber connection. You look at the articles that magically appear as you scroll down and might assume it would be fetching as you scroll but nope - no ajax requests I have to assume its pre-fetched the lot !

Horrible don't make a site like that.